

UC San Diego ARTS AND HUMANITIES

Theatre and Dance

THE GRADUATING CLASS OF 2022

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS SHEILA AND HUGHES POTIKER THEATRE

Graduation Ceremony, June 3 at 4:00pm

Acknowledgements | Drew Calandrella | Executive Advisor

Welcome Address | Professor Lora Powell

Introduction of Student Speakers | Professor Lora Powell Student Speakers | Ruby Hays '22, Meghan Ripchik '22, Erica Kahn '22

Introduction of Keynote | Professor Stephen Buescher

Keynote Speaker | Professor Jennifer Chang

Introduction of Awards | Professor Lora Powell

Jorge Huerta Spirit Award | Professors Jade Power-Sotomayor and Robert Castro

Patricia Rincon Diversity Award | Professor Yolande Snaith

Bronowski Award | Professor Ursula Meyer

Steven Adler Award | Professor Lora Powell

Theatre + Dance Scholarship Awards | Professor Julie Burelle

Video Slideshow

Presentation of Diplomas | Professors Mark Guirguis and Lora Powell

Recognition of Minors | Professors Mark Guirguis and Lora Powell

Recognition of Honors Theses | Professors Mark Guirguis and Lora Powell

Closing Remarks | Professor Lora Powell

THEATRE + DANCE GRADUATES

Valeria Avina **Ahmed Baig** Patricio Becerril Theatre Theatre Theatre **Emma Brady** Alana Burgess Natalie Calderon Theatre Theatre Theatre Zane Camacho Sophia Casas Diego Castro Theatre Theatre Theatre **Damien Coates Emily Cronan Melissa Dewey** Theatre Theatre and Dance Theatre **Benjamin Diaz** Sophia Donner Charlice Drexler Theatre Theatre Theatre Christina Duncanson Sophia Ehrlich Marcus Escobar Theatre Theatre Theatre Caleb Foley **Piper Fullington** Weigi Gao Theatre Theatre Theatre Melina Ginn **Ruby Hays** Niles Hallie Theatre Theatre Theatre Kris Hidalgo Erica Kahn **Kayleb Kirby** Theatre and Dance Theatre Theatre Kaci Koelker Gabriela Lebaron Shankar Mahadev Theatre Theatre Theatre and Dance **Brianna Maloney** Alexa Maris McGinnis **Judy Martinez** Theatre and Dance Theatre Theatre Ben McLaren Kalia Mitchell-Silbaugh Hannah Milon Theatre Theatre Theatre Ángel Nieves Tyler Nii Andrew Olson Theatre Theatre Theatre

Joseff Paz

Theatre

Brianna Peacock

Theatre

Anton Oppermann

Theatre

THEATRE + DANCE GRADUATES

Manuel Puentes

Theatre

Carlos Ramirez Theatre

Trevor Rinzler Theatre

Eduardo Rios

Theatre

Meghan Ripchik

Theatre

Ericka Rivas Navarro

Theatre

Juliana Scheding

Theatre

Lizzeth Serna

Theatre

Ashley Shilts Theatre

EmmaJo Spencer

Theatre

Abby Stein

Theatre

Jillian Stern Theatre

Joseph Stommel

Theatre

Frida Villeda Torres

Theatre

Sarah Taylor

Miguel Trevino Gurrola Theatre

Theatre

Zhuoqing Wan

Theatre

Anne Wang Theatre and Dance

Shiuan Yi Wang

Theatre

Xinyi Wang

Theatre

Anya West Theatre

Hongyu Xue

Theatre

Zifeiyang Ye

Theatre

Runjia Zhang Theatre

Adriana De La Torre

Dance

William Kessinger

Dance

Nathan Kim

Dance

Steven Pulido

Dance

Naomi Rivas

Dance

Boning Yang

Dance

Louis Zapien Dance

EVENT STAFF

Undergraduate Program Coordinator Alexandra Glenn
Chief Administrative Officer Gris Arellano
Production Manager Michael Francis
Associate Production Manager Laura Manning

Faculty Planning Committee Lora Powell, Mark Guirguis,

Stephen Buescher

Scenic Department Danielle Boulila, Daniel Capiro,

Quinn Becker, Joel Fullerton

Electrics Department Mike Doyle, Joel Britt, Andrea Ryan

Sound and Video Department Steve Negrete
Graduation Graphics Designers Miranda Friel

Graduation Slideshow Meghan Ripchik, Erica Kahn

SPECIAL THANKS

The Department of Theatre and Dance gratefully acknowledges those who have provided scholarships and support for our students.

The Monroe Lippman Scholarship

The Kirstie McDonald Graduate Fellowship (Marianne McDonald)

The Gerald Allen Sasek Endowed Scholarship

Adele and Theodore Shank Professional Playwrighting Residency Award

The Arthur Wagner Endowed Acting Fellowship (Molli and Arthur Wagner)

The Mandell Weiss Endowed Graduate Fellowship

Ginger and Ken Baldwin

Jorge and Ginger Huerta

Other scholarships still require funding to bring them to full strength. If you are interested in supporting and training the theatre and dance artists of the future, please contact Department Chair, Drew Calandrella: **theatrechair@ucsd.edu**

The Department of Theatre + Dance would also like to thank the photographers who have beautifully captured our performances. In today's program, you will see images by:

Manuel Rotenberg, Jim Carmody, Junior Nyong'o MFA '23, and Grayson Heyl MFA '22



VISIT THEATRE.UCSD.EDU TO LEARN MORE

